How To

How to Delete a YouTube Video

Are you wondering how to delete a YouTube video? You are on the right space then! Reasons for deleting a YouTube videos can be plenty. Your video list could be too long, existing content can be outdated and so on. Also, sometimes you would want to delete a video that wasn’t uploaded by you at all but has you in it! Or maybe, you found a video that has nothing to do with your personal life yet has abusive and/or negative content.

Whatever your reason for wanting a video deleted, here’s a look at the various ways to do so.

How to Delete Your YouTube Video

Step 1 – Go to www.youtube.com and log into your account by clicking Sign In and entering your details. On the upper left corner, you will find the YouTube Menu button. Select My Channel from the list.

Step 2 – My Channel is your profile page, where all your videos are uploaded. Here, you will find a YouTube Studio (Beta) button in the space below your cover photo. Click it.

Step 3 – On the left side of the screen is the channel menu, where you need to click on the “Videos” tab to see all your uploads.

Step 4 – Now, move your mouse over to the video you want to delete. You will find an “Option” button, which includes the option to delete. Now, a box will pop up asking if you want to delete the video because once deleted, it cannot be recovered. If you are sure, click on “Delete Video.” 

That’s it. You’ve successfully removed the video from your channel.

How to Delete Your YouTube Video Using a Smartphone

Step 1 – Sign into your account via your YouTube app. Click on your profile picture on the top right corner. This will take you to the account menu, from where you can move to your channel by clicking on the top tab that says “My Channel.”

Step 2 – Once you find your channel, you will find the videos you have uploaded. Move over to the one you want to delete. On the top right corner, you’ll see three dots from which you can select a menu.

👉  How to edit Google Plus Profile

Step 3 – Click on “Delete” from this menu. A box will ask you to confirm if you really want to delete it. Click “Yes” if you’re sure.

That’s it. The chosen video has gone into oblivion.

How to Delete a Video Not Uploaded by You

In this case, you need to directly contact the owner of the video by either leaving a comment or sending a message asking them to delete it. If they don’t follow your advice, you can then contact the YouTube team for support. You can request that a video be deleted on grounds of sexual and/or violent content, child abuse, misleading content, content violating your personal rights and so on.

Apart from this, you can also flag a channel. YouTube is quick to look into the complaints and take the necessary actions to take down any video that violates its rules or someone else’s rights or sensibilities.

Earn Money Working from Home - Start a Blog. Get the Free Kit!

🤩 Like my blog? Start one for yourself. Here’s how. 😍

About the author

Mani Karthik

In my pursuit of happiness, I share everything I've learned, on this blog. From productivity to spirituality and everything in between. I quit my cozy job in the USA to pursue my passion - blogging. Today, I make five times what my US job paid. More than the money, I love the freedom it gives me to make my own choices. Come join me. Start blogging! :) WhatsApp : +0014084894785

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

MK Blogger

Last month, I made $3,427 working from home. You can, too!

Here's How